Home
photo: David Ausserhofer

Home

Welcome!

Science is changing our world: It captures our imagination but also raises many questions. My life as a science journalist constantly moves between the spheres of science, media and the general public. I bring these worlds together – by writing, by moderating and by counseling. I work with editorial offices, with scientists and science organizations, and with companies.

And it will be a pleasure to work with you.

News

April 23, 2018
Science Journalism in Germany

Lecture and discussion on the development and current situation of German science journalism. Event at the Goethe-Institut Berlin for Egyptian journalists coming to Germany following an invitation of the Goethe-Institut Cairo.

24 April 2018
Book Premiere “America on the Couch”

Panel discussion with the US psychiatrist Allen Frances, whose analysis of the Trump Age was recently published in German, followed by a discussion with the audience. The event takes place in the Kulturbrauerei (Maschinenhaus), Schönhauser Allee 36, 10435 Berlin.

26 April 2018
Quality Criteria and Appointments in the Engineering Sciences

In Berlin I will moderate the closing event with discussion on a project of the German Academy of Science and Engineering acatech. The focus is on recommendations to strengthen the exchange between science and industry.

25 May 2018
TechnikRadar – What Germans think about technology

I will moderate the presentation of the results and discussion of a new survey study on attitudes and wishes, hopes and fears among the population regarding new technologies. Organisers are the German Academy of Engineering Sciences acatech and the Körber Foundation. Place: Berlin, Humboldt-Carré, Behrenstrasse 42, 10117 Berlin

June 13, 2018
Hildegard-Hamm-Brücher-Förderpreis for democracy learning and experience

I will moderate the award ceremony for the chairman of the EKD, Dr. Heinrich Bedford-Strohm, and two school projects from the competition “Demokratisch handeln – Gesagt. Getan 2017” at KörberForum Hamburg, Kehrwieder 12, 20457 Hamburg.

New texts

… from the Big Bang to child-raising: this is the program of Urania Berlin and this is what the interview with its long-standing director Dr. Ulrich Bleyer is about. For more than twenty years, the physicist has headed this traditional popular science institution. In an interview, he talks about his life as a researcher in the GDR, the preferences of Urania audiences, encounters with Nobel Prize winners and Berlin’s new science scene.

… “Trump isn’t crazy, we are,” says US psychiatrist Allen Frances in an interview. The renowned expert has just published a book entitled “America on the Couch”, in which he turns against remote diagnoses and analyses the mad ideas of his compatriots. On his reading tour in Europe, Frances also comes to Berlin on 24 April (see above).

…. the current issue of “Humboldt Kosmos” deals with the nutrition of the future. I write about artificial meat, insect cuisine and skyscraper farms, nutritional myths and what young researchers from other countries think about German food culture. E-Paper: English Version / German Version

… about the chances of an aging society, dance approaches to age and hundred year olds as film heroes on www.altern-in-deutschland.de

… about future prospects of our youngest, two-child families and parents on the smartphone on www.zukunft-mit-kindern.eu

Award

Humboldt Kosmos “, the magazine of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, received two awards. Issue 103 (editorial office: Georg Scholl / Lilo Berg) was awarded in the Best of Corporate Publishing competition as well as in the efficiency competition of the communications industry “Fox Awards”. The jury’s decision was based on journalistic quality, overall concept and cross-media interdependence.

Home
Foto: David Ausserhofer

Home

Herzlich willkommen!

Wissenschaft begeistert die Menschen und weckt zugleich viele Fragen.
Als Wissenschaftsjournalistin bewege ich mich seit vielen Jahren an der Schnittfläche von Forschung und Öffentlichkeit. Ich vermittle zwischen diesen Welten, schreibend, moderierend und beratend.
Dabei arbeite ich mit Redaktionen zusammen, mit Wissenschaftsorganisationen und Unternehmen. Und gern auch mit Ihnen.

Aktuell

23. April 2018
Wissenschaftsjournalismus in Deutschland

Vortrag und Diskussion über die Entwicklung und aktuelle Situation des Ressorts. Geschlossene Veranstaltung im Goethe-Institut Berlin für ägyptische Journalisten, die auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts Kairo nach Deutschland kommen.

24. April 2018
Buchpremiere „Amerika auf der Couch“

Podiumsgespräch mit dem US-Psychiater Allen Frances, dessen Analyse des Trump-Zeitalters kürzlich auf Deutsch erschienen ist; anschließend Moderation der Diskussion mit dem Publikum. Die Literatur-live-Veranstaltung findet statt im Maschinenhaus der Kulturbrauerei, Schönhauser Allee 36, 10435 Berlin.

26. April 2018
Qualitätskriterien und Berufungen in den Technikwissenschaften

In Berlin moderiere ich die Abschlussveranstaltung mit Diskussion zu einem Projekt der Deutschen Akademie für Technikwissenschaften acatech. Im Fokus stehen Empfehlungen zur Stärkung des Austauschs von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft.

25. Mai 2018
TechnikRadar – Was die Deutschen über Technik denken

Ich moderiere die Ergebnispräsentation und Diskussion einer neuen Befragungsstudie über Einstellungen und Wünsche, Hoffnungen und Befürchtungen in der Bevölkerung angesichts neuer Technologien. Veranstalter sind die Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften acatech und die Körber-Stiftung. Ort: Berlin, Humboldt-Carré, Behrenstraße 42, 10117 Berlin

13. Juni 2018
Hildegard-Hamm-Brücher-Förderpreises für Demokratie lernen und erfahren

Ich moderiere die Festveranstaltung zur Preisvergabe an den Ratsvorsitzenden der EKD, Dr. Heinrich Bedford-Strohm, und zwei Schulprojekte aus dem Wettbewerb „Demokratisch handeln – Gesagt. Getan 2017“  im KörberForum Hamburg, Kehrwieder 12, 20457 Hamburg.

Neue Texte

Von Urknall bis Kinderziehung: Diese Bandbreite hat das Programm der Urania Berlin und darum geht es auch im Interview mit ihrem langjährigen Leiter Dr. Ulrich Bleyer. Mehr als zwanzig Jahre hat der Physiker die traditionsreiche populärwissenschaftliche Einrichtung geleitet. Im Interview spricht er über sein Forscherleben in der DDR, Vorlieben des Urania-Publikums, Begegnungen mit Nobelpreisträgern und die neue Wissenschaftsszene Berlins.

„Nicht Trump ist verrückt, wir sind es“, sagt der US-Psychiater Allen Frances im Interview. Der renommierte Experte hat gerade ein Buch mit dem Titel „Amerika auf der Couch“ veröffentlicht, in dem er sich gegen wohlfeile Ferndiagnosen wendet und die Wahnideen seiner Landsleute aufs Korn nimmt. Auf seiner Lesereise in Europa kommt Frances am 24. April auch nach Berlin (s.o.).

…um die Ernährung der Zukunft geht es in der aktuellen Ausgabe von „Humboldt Kosmos“. Ich schreibe darin über Kunstfleisch, Insekten-Cuisine und Hochhausfarmen, über Ernährungsmythen und was junge Forscher aus anderen Ländern von der deutschen Esskultur halten.

E-Paper: Deutsche Version / English Version

…über die Chancen einer langlebigen Gesellschaft, tänzerische Annäherungen an das Alter und sechs Hundertjährige als Filmhelden auf www.altern-in-deutschland.de

…über die Zukunftsaussichten unserer Jüngsten, Zwei-Kind-Familien, Eltern am Smartphone und eine bewegte Jugend für alle auf www.zukunft-mit-kindern.eu

Auszeichnung

„Humboldt Kosmos“, das Magazin der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, erhielt gleich zwei Preise. Heft 103 (Chefredaktion: Georg Scholl/Lilo Berg) wurde im sowohl im Best of Corporate Publishing-Wettbewerb als auch im Effizienz-Wettbewerb der Kommunikationsbranche „Fox Awards“ ausgezeichnet. Ausschlaggebend für die Jurys waren journalistische Qualität, Gesamtkonzept und crossmediale Verzahnung.